Warrior Pose

Day 1 of NaPoWriMo calls for a “Lune” poem, essentially a 5-3-5 haiku style, following  either the rule of syllables per line, or number of words per line. I ended up doing the latter for this specific exercise. Not that this needs much background, but I am currently on a Friend Pilgrimage, and I ended up doing a Thai Chi/Yoga class with a friend before I left to travel to another city. After I told her about the poem a day prompt, she told me to write about the class. I figured why not, and this is the result. I’m not convinced that this piece is finished, or perfect, but it’s the first day of the challenge, and the second thing I’ve written in the past 4 months since completing my MFA–so rusty gears and all that. Without further ado:

“Warrior Pose”

Firm footing on anxious ground;

strength-inhale, then

expire weakness, extend focus. Repeat. 

Leave a Reply

