While They

While they were all homesick for
the house of their parents,
the hangouts of their friends,
I found myself homesick for
places unknown;
hills untouched by my bare feet;
and streams unclouded by the soil
on my fingers.

While they mourned past
lovers and too-late regrets,
I longed for new lips to caress,
new smiles to encourage,
new skin to melt into.

While they turned west to the new land,
their old memories,
I faced the dark, the ancient, the  medieval
east with new discoveries
and new remembrances.

While they left me there,
calling me unnatural,
turned away when I only thought to give them love.
I gave my love anew,
to rocks and trees, and
language and you.

Leave a Reply

