I’ve got a friend…

That’s how all stories start right? Well, when I say that, I literally mean I have a friend who says this or that. So let us begin:

I have a friend, and he says that things today are too public. No one focuses on the individual anymore. I think it’s much more complicated than that.

When it comes to things being too public, I think that people are not approaching relationships the way they should. Not that I am one to talk about relationships–I’m at the point where I want to burn all of the bridges and disappear–but when people want to know someone, they glean the shallow stuff from facebook statuses, or twitter updates, or tumblr reblogs. And if that person is right next to them, the conversation is shallow too, what food you like, what you did last night, how are you (fine, thank you.)

It’s all just surface stuff, that even writers have a hard time trying to translate (or give meaning to in their writing.) A lot of people would argue, “maybe what I’m saying is really what I mean,” but that is never 100% the case is it? And if it is, you probably want to explain more to whoever you are talking to, but they are simply ok with the face value.

Maybe there is too much information going into their brain, they can only handle the 140 characters. It’s possible. We could be a culture of ADHD. We’re so public we don’t even know who we are as individuals. That isn’t what my friend is saying, but I think perhaps he would agree to some extent.

I often worry if people ever questions themselves, their actions, and try to make something of it. I mean, not that it matters, what are we doing with our lives anyway right?

Yet, adversely, from an academic point of view, there is something of a small blip of an insurgence of individuality. Maybe it’s faux-individuality “we are all special and unique as long as we follow this path” kind of deal, but that can sometimes be the vein that will backfire, because some of the people may, by accident, actually, start thinking for themselves.

But the numbers are so few. And I feel like I am losing track–not making sense.

What I mean to say, academically, in an ideal classroom setting, each student gets one-on-one care, and however they learn best is how they are actually learning, instead of being forced into another generalised method. These kids are made to think that they have their own thoughts and ideas, and that as long as they do good, and I mean do good,  then their lives will be something worth living, and that they will be successful in whatever walk of life they choose to take. I’m sure someone has some kind of argument with what I just said, but then again, the ideal has not been actualised enough to spend anymore time pontificating.

When I argue with my friend, and say that we are too individualistic, despite the public and intrusive world, I am arguing that we very much keep to ourselves, all of us. Maybe we aren’t asking each other the right questions. Maybe we all just need to sit down and listen as much as we talk. Just look at the people you follow here and there on the internet; The people you have met on the street; those you have known for years; your own family. Everyone is so obviously their own person, everyone experiences the world differently even if you are sitting beside a person when something happens. You can never be so cocky as to say you know a person, but for the sake of letting a person know that you care, or that you are there for them, you have to pretend to know them.

Touch them, remind them that they exist, that you do too.

(Well that took a turn, and rambled. I apologise.)

Leave a Reply

